Over-doing It

Standard

Well, I over-did it again. Working, taking care of the family, cleaning and organizing the house, laundry, grocery shopping, cooking dinner, squeezing in time to play with my sweet girl… it just pushed me over the edge and I am sick… AGAIN!! In early October I had strep throat, which I haven’t had since I was a kid. I don’t think I missed any time from school for that, but I do recall a really rough weekend that did not allow me to catch up on all my motherly/wifely/homemaker type duties. Then, right before Thanksgiving I woke up one morning with extreme ear pain. I thought it would go away but of course, but Thanksgiving day it was insane. I couldn’t hear out of my left ear and then came the coughing. Nonstop, incessant, lung-burning hacking. I finally went to the Urgent Care because my doctor’s office was way overbooked due to being closed for 4 days over the holiday. The kind doctor there diagnosed me with a double ear infection, sinus infection and bronchitis. Took my antibiotic and codeine cough syrup like a good girl and didn’t miss a day of work. When it got to be 2 weeks later and I was still not feeling any better at all I called up my family doctor, Pete. We are so blessed that my in-laws best friends are both doctors. Pete got me in right away and diagnosed me as a hot mess. Same infections were all in place but this time I was prescribed another 10 day dose of 3 antibiotics a day, Prednisone, and an inhaler to use 2x a day. We hadn’t seen this combo since I was 6 weeks pregnant and couldn’t take anything for it! Then both my ear drums ruptured while on a flight to Phoenix. I thought I was going to die! I wanted to die! It took a long time, but I did eventually get better once I had entered the 2nd trimester!

Well, here I am again. Ear infection, sinus infection, and bronchitis. I said, “How can I have bronchitis? I’m not even coughing.” Pete said that I would be coughing soon. A few hours later it did. I did actual take off from school on Tuesday and Wednesday and haven’t been cleared to return to work until Friday. Usually I don’t heed the good doctor’s advice, but maybe one more day of rest will help me to get better a little quicker. I hate missing school though. The thought of leaving my little learners in the hands of a sub who probably is not a certified school librarian simply scares me. It takes me forever to prepare detailed plans just in case I get someone who doesn’t know what a Venn diagram is or how to complete a fiction/nonfiction comparison of two books.

Sometimes I wonder if we, mothers, wives, employees/employers push ourselves too far. Never mind… I don’t wonder, I know we do. We do it to keep our kids happy. We do it to keep our husbands and families happy. We do it to prove that we can have it all… working outside the home, having a wonderfully organized and clean home, well-behaved and well-dressed children. But why? Why do we feel the need to prove it? We push ourselves so hard until we can’t go anymore.

Will I stop doing this? Probably not. But, will I learn to try to take some time for myself? I hope so. Not yet though… I still have a load of laundry sitting in the dryer (that can wait until tomorrow for a run through the wrinkle release cycle tomorrow), a sink full of dishes to wash (which will probably wait until tomorrow), and a ton of fun, creative things for me to make to bless my family with from Pinterest. That sounds like a good place to start!

Check out the new post under Mission:Fun… Fun with Magnets. I did those tonight while I had a little burst of energy. Now, time for some cough syrup with codeine and hopefully the first good night’s sleep I’ve had in 5 days.Sub plans are prepared for tomorrow… but I’ll play that by ear. On a good note… I was able to cross a few things off of “The List.”

~Jaci

Leave a Reply

